Pro – If you have a strong career and receive a significant pay raise after agreeing to a non-modifiable support agreement, your ex-spouse cannot come back and try to negotiate for more child support. In Massachusetts, that is the law. It is now the duty of legislators in other states to listen to the victims of ruinous maintenance laws and to do the same. When I went to court to change the payment, the judge apologized for the case and said that her husband had played cards with the liquidator once, and that I had to start all over again. Something was very wrong, and I had to fix it. The more you are married, the longer the proposed submission term. California, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Oklahoma, New York, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah and West Virginia have passed all laws that allow for changes or termination of support obligations when they show that the beneficiary is living with another person.  In April 2009, New Jersey Governor Jon Corzine signed legislative amendments to his state`s support status that would prohibit child support for parents who kill, abuse or abandon their children.  Spousal care, spousal assistance or support is the same thing. Call it what you like best. A divorce lawyer will know what you`re talking about.
Once you have been married for 12 and a half years, the duration of maintenance becomes 50 per cent of the length of the marriage. If you are married for 20 years, you can receive child support for 10 years or pay yourself. The mission I started now extends to many states across the country. I consulted with divorce reform activists in Florida, Colorado, Oregon, Connecticut, New Jersey, Virginia and South Carolina. Individuals must self-support themselves after a period of support and not rely on an ex-spouse. Alimony is the help of a spouse who is able to pay a spouse in distress for a reasonable period of time. That must be the rule, not the exception. Section 4336 allows the Tribunal to maintain jurisdiction over support payments in long-term marriages.
One of the most annoying is the 10-year rule. It is one of the most misinterpreted divorce laws in California. Many people interpret this rule as follows: “You will be a person for life if you cross the 10-year mark in your marriage.” This may not be further from the truth! Under California law, the general presumption for the duration of the aid is “half the length of the marriage” for marriages less than 10 years.